Back to school

Australian schools team sailors taking on New Zealand.

11 July 2019


Clashes with international fleet racing commitments have seen teams from both nations lose some key sailors but, nonetheless, strong teams have been selected and there will be a high standard of competition at these Interdominion Championships.

Having very successfully conducted the 2019 Australian Secondary Schools Team Racing Championships in early June, the Sandy Bay Sailing Club is very well placed and thoroughly prepared to deliver excellent support to the Interdominion Championships.

“We are particularly looking forward to welcoming the New Zealand and Interstate teams to Sandy Bay for the Interdominions.” Sandy Bay Sailing Club Commodore, Felicity Allison said.

The top Australian teams selected to represent Australia from their results in the very hard fought Australian Secondary Schools Team Racing Championships in early June are:


Open (mixed gender) Division:

The Scots College (NSW)

The Hutchins School (Tasmania) The Friends’ School (Tasmania)

Female Division:

Ascham School (NSW)

Fahan School (Tasmania)

New Zealand teams selected from results at the New Zealand national championships in April are:

Open (mixed gender) Division

Marlborough Team Sailing Nelson College

Female Division:

Nelson College for Girls


International Race Officer, Mr Nick Hutton from the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania will officiate as the Principal Race Officer for the Interdominion Championships. The umpiring team, which includes two New Zealand National Umpires, Mr Rob Herries and Mr David Hogg, as well as Tasmanian National Umpire, Mr Murray Jones will by led by South Australian National Umpire Mr Wayne Thompson as Chief Umpire.

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement