Final showdown

Marking the 20th anniversary year of the Farr 40 class, the strongest country-based fleet in the world are assembling their finest teams for the end of season national championship in Sydney, 17 to 19 March, 2018.

13 March 2018


Reigning titleholder Martin Hill and HillPDA Racing team displayed imposing form when they took out last month’s NSW title, but only once a countback separated first from the Outlaws in the runner-up position.

“We are looking forward to the challenge and expecting, as always, tough competition with many snakes and ladders,” Hill said this week.

Tom and Alan Quick’s Outlaw was right in Hill’s face that series, and there’s a presumption the pair will resume the same intense rivalry when they come together this Saturday within the mixed fleet for the opening day of racing offshore.

Sunday 18 March and Monday 19 March  will play out on Sydney Harbour with a course area to be determined each morning by the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron’s race officer Rob Ridley.


A celebration of the class’ extraordinary 20-year milestone is tinged with some sadness at the announcement that dual Australian Farr 40 champion (2006 & 2007) Lang Walker has officially retired from competition.

Australian Farr 40 president Gordon Ketelbey said: “We acknowledge Lang’s outstanding long-term contribution to the class over many many seasons, both as a fierce competitor and sponsor.

Lang’s Kokomo campaigns were always top notch and in turn the overall fleet quality at the time of his team’s dominance rose accordingly.”

In addition to HillPDA and Outlaw, Ketelbey suggests Sam Hill’s Forty could easily feature in the top three, as could Jeff Carter’s Edake, winner of two of the three pointscore regattas staged across the summer months and last year’s Corinthian Farr 40 Australian Champion. Among the Victorians, Rob Davis and Andy Baker from Sandringham showed at the recent NSW title what a couple of hard Sydney seasons can do for overall form, finishing on the podium in three of the seven races with Nutcracker.

he traditional Farr 40 finals home, the RSYS built on the picturesque Kirribilli waterfront, will host the Melbourne and Sydney fleet of eight one designs to determine the 2017/18 National Championship: John Calvert-Jones Trophy winner.

Up to four races per day starting from 1100hrs are scheduled and the long-range forecast for the weekend indicates nor’easters building to 15 knots in the afternoon.

List of entries:

  1. Double Black – Rob Pitts, Sandringham Yacht Club and MHYC
  2. Estate Master – Martin Hill, MHYC
  3. Edake – Jeff Carter, MHYC
  4. Exile – Rob Reynolds, MHYC
  5. Forty – Sam Hill, RSYS
  6. Nutcracker – Rob Davis & Andy Baker, SYC
  7. Outlaw – Alan & Tom Quick, Cruising Yacht Club of Australia
  8. Zen – Gordon Ketelbey, MHYC

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement