Get set!

112 boats are entered into the 2021 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.

Photography by © ROLEX/Daniel Forster

01 November 2021


The stage is set for the return of the Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, with a fleet of 112 boats confirmed for the 2021 edition of the prestigious race.

Among them is Matt Allen’s Botin 52 Ichi Ban, the 2017 and 2019 winner of the Tattersall Cup which honours the overall winner on handicap.

Three super maxis are tipped to battle for the John H Illingworth Challenge Cup as line honours winner, with Peter Harburg’s RP100 Black Jack, Seng Huang Lee’s Dovell 100 SHK Scallywag and Christian Beck’s Juan-K 100 which will soon be rebranded (formerly Infotrack and winner of line honours in 2016 as Perpetual Loyal) part of the line-up.

The introduction of shorthanded racing for the 2021 race has proved popular as 24 crews of two look to be crowned as the inaugural winner of the Two-Handed Division.


Noel Cornish AM, Commodore of race organiser Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, said “We are delighted to see such a strong fleet entered for the 2021 Rolex Sydney Hobart.

“I commend competitors and race supporters for their cooperation and support, which will ensure we can run a COVIDSafe race.

“The Rolex Sydney Hobart is a hallmark of the Summer sporting calendar in Australia. “The CYCA is in ongoing discussions with the NSW and Tasmanian Governments, and will comply with any COVID-19 restrictions put in place for the safety of competitors and spectators.

“I would especially like to thank Race Sponsor, Rolex, and Race Finishing Partner, the Royal Yacht Club of Tasmania, for their unwavering support.”

View the list of yachts here

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement