Price is right

A tight finish in the final day of competition Warren Jones International Youth Regatta in Perth, as Harry Price and Team DownUnder racing take top spot.

04 February 2018


Finals day started in the same pattern as the whole week with light and flukey Easterly’s delaying any action until mid afternoon on a hot and humid Perth day. The semi-final heats were shortened accordingly to the best of two matches.

As winner of Round Robin two, Boulden chose to race fellow clubmate Spearman. Boulden’s team won both matches in a very light Easterly breeze. Price and Anyon battled it out for the last spot in the final, with Price coming off on top.

Before the final matches the breeze took a big shift to the S/SW and increased to a more acceptable 8 – 10 knots, much to the relief of a big fleet of spectators and support boats surrounding the short stadium type course in Perth Waters. The Finals were also shortened to the first to two points as the light started to fade in the late afternoon.

In the Petit-Final George Anyon from Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron faced Mark Spearman from Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, which ended in favour of the local team.


The Grand Final was set up for a race off between the highest ranked teams at this year’s Warren Jones International Youth Regatta. From the entry into the start box in flight one, Harry Price and his team hunted his opponent but copped a penalty in the process, which put him on the back foot. However Price manoeuvred his boat into a much better position at the start and led Will Boulden up the course.

In the short two lap course Price extended on each leg and was easily able to off load his penalty and go on to win by three boat lengths.

On match point, Harry Price again got penalised in the pre-start giving Will Boulden a glimpse of a come-back. However, Price and his DownUnder Racing team finished the regatta off as per the previous race – winning the 2018 Warren Jones International Youth Regatta.

Price’s winning team already included a World Champion – local RFBYC sailor, Cam Seagreen, but, now the whole team will be a part of the Warren Jones Regatta history and the alumni of Warren Jones Champions; there with a likes of America’s Cup sailors Kinley Fowler, Luke Payne and Graeme Spence, former World Match Racing Champion, Phil Robertson, and, current World Match Racing Champion, Torvar Mirsky.

2018 Warren Jones Regatta Day Five Results

1st Place

Harry Price, Murray Jones, Corey Hamilton, Matt Stenta & Cam Seagreen

DownUnder Racing – the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia

2nd Place

Will Boulden, Alister Young, Alex Negri, Emerson Carlberg, Peron Pearce & Will Drew

Alpha Racing Team – Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club

3rd Place

Mark Spearman, Luke Elliot, Romë Featherstone, Damien Garbowski & James Stewart

Swift Racing – Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club

4th Place

George Anyon, Taylor Balough, Tim Snedden, Connor Mashlan, & Bradley McLaughlin

Lambda Racing Team – Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron


  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement