Queen crowned

Charmaine Hill is the 2022 Queen of the Harbour after teaming with Michael Coxon, Ricky Bridge and Zac Barnabas in Smeg.

Written by Frank Quealey
Photography by Jessica Crisp

21 March 2022


Charmaine Hill and her team won the Australian 18 Footers League’s annual 18ft skiff race on Sydney Harbour on Sunday.

The Smeg team led for most of the two-lap windward-return course in a 12-knots South-East breeze to defeat Yandoo (Josh Porebski, Fang Warren, Mike Kennedy and Emma Phillips) by 40s with Noakes Blue (Yvette Heritage, Tom Clout, James Turner and Bec Hancock) a further 42s back in third place.

Noakes Youth (Tom Cunich, Wallis Brewer) finished in fourth place, followed by Burrawang-Young Henrys (Simon Nearn, Emma Edwards) and 18 Footers Bar and Restaurant (Pedro Vozone, Ali Vandeness).

Smeg led from Noakes Blue at the top mark on the first lap of the course with Yandoo and Shaw and Partners Financial Services close together in third and fourth place.

Burrawang-Young Henrys, 18 Footers Bar and Restaurant and Noakes Youth headed the rest of the fleet. There was little change at the head of the fleet over the final lap of the course.


Another winner was the 2021 to 2022 season Yandoo team of John Winning, Fang Warren and Mike Kennedy, who won the Australian 18 Footers League Pointscore series.

Yandoo finished the season with a total of 180 points, just one point ahead of the rookie Rag & Famish Hotel team of Harry Price, Josh McKnight and Harry Hall. The Oak Double Bay-4 Pines (Aron Everett, John Cooley and Charlie Gundy) finished in third place with a total of 204 points.

Sunday’s race was the final event of the 2021 to 2022 season.  Racing will recommence in October for the 2022 to 2023 season.

Watch Sail Media’s action videos from the 2021 to 2022 season, including the 2022 JJ Giltinan Championship, online and click on the ’18 Footers TV’ link.



  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement