Sailors recognised

Several sailors have been recognised for their outstanding service and achievements in the 2022 Queen's Birthday Honours.

15 June 2022


The Order of Australia recognises Australians who have demonstrated outstanding service or exceptional achievement.

“I would like to congratulate and thank all members of the sailing community who were recognised in today’s Queen’s Birthday Honours List,” said Australian Sailing President Daniel Belcher.

“It is pleasing to see so many Australians recognised for their contribution to sailing and yachting, as well as the many club members honoured for their services and achievements.

“I would like to personally acknowledge Mr Robert Salteri AO, who is the current Australian Sailing Team Patrons Coordinator for his ongoing contribution to the sport.

“Rob is a fine example of someone who has evolved his contribution to the sport as his life has evolved. We thank him and the many others like him who have been recognised today.”


A well-known figure in the Australian sailing community, Salteri has not only contributed significantly to the sport but has also had a positive effect on those around him.

“I have been fortunate to know Rob most of my life, having learned to sail with him at Northbridge Sailing Club many years ago,” said Immediate Past Vice President of Australian Sailing and current Vice President of World Sailing, Sarah Kenny.

“Rob is extremely passionate and committed to all things sailing. He has been a long-time supporter of Australian Sailing and the Australian Sailing Team, having given so much of himself and his time in his role as the Australian Sailing Team Patrons Program Coordinator.

He generously gives of his time and has always genuinely engaged with everyone he has come across or worked with in our sport.”

Among other recipients was John McConaghy AM, who was recognised for significant service to the yacht manufacturing sector.

Owner of McConaghy Yachts from 1967 to 2000 and a pioneer in the use of composite materials for boat building, Mr McConaghy has had a lasting impact on the Australian sailing landscape.

“John’s contribution to our sport goes well beyond his outstanding career as a boat builder,” said current Director of Australian Sailing, Richard Hudson.

“He has been a regular participant in racing out on Pittwater for as long as I can remember, and he was a very worthy winner of Australian Sailing’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2019.”

Mr Kevin Wood AM, Life Member of Sandringham Yacht Club and Commodore from 1999 to 2002, and the late Mr Brian Francis Girling OAM, Executive Committee Member of Sailability Victoria from 2005 and Rear Commodore of Lysterfield Sailing Club, were also recognised for their contributions to Sailing in Australia.

Those recognised for their contribution to sailing or yachting, and other sailing club members on the Queen’s Birthday 2022 Honours List include:

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Mr Robert Salteri, Sydney NSW 2000 – For distinguished service to the transport, shipping and Defence industries, and to the community through philanthropic contributions (Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club and Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron)

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia

  • Mr Laurence Cheong Ah Toy, Howard Springs NT – For significant service to primary industry, to education, and to the community (Darwin Sailing Club)
  • Mr John McConaghy, Avalon NSW – For significant service to the yacht manufacturing sector (Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club)
  • Mr Kevin John Wood, Brighton VIC – For significant service to recreational sailing (Sandringham Yacht Club)

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division

  • The late Mr Brian Francis Girling, Formerly of Hawthorn East VIC – For service to people with a disability, and to sailing (Lysterfield Sailing Club)
  • Mr Frederick John Lynch, Champion Lakes WA – For service to veterans, and to the community (Fremantle Sailing Club)
  • Mr Michael James Millar, Port Noarlunga South SA – For service to the community through Lions International (Wooden Boat Association of South Australia)
  • Dr Christopher Murray Moten, SA – For service to general medicine, and to the community (Holdfast Bay Yacht Club, now Adelaide Sailing Club)
  • Mr Bradley John Teal, Essendon VIC – For service to sport, and to the community (Royal Victoria Motor Yacht Club)

Australian Sailing is delighted about their well-deserved recognition.

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement