Inductees announced

The National Sailing Hall of Fame has inducted 11 new sailors into its latest class of inductees.

15 July 2021


The National Sailing Hall of Fame (NSHOF) has confirmed that 11 new sailors have been inducted into its archives, representing the 11th class of NSHOF inductees.

The new members of the NSHOF 2021 include founders of Alcort, Inc., and the designers and producers of Sunfish Alexander Bryan and Cortlandt Heyniger; Olympic gold medalist and 1988 America’s Cup defender William Buchan; and Lynne Jewell Stone, one of the first women to win an Olympic gold medal in sailing, Rolex Yachtswoman of the Year and former Executive Director of Sail Newport.

The other inductees included Agustin DiazGilbert T. GrayRear Admiral Stephen B. LuceJane Wiswell PegelDawn Riley and Richard Rose.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recipient for 2021 went to Captain William D. Pinkney, the first African American sailor to solo-circumnavigate the world via the Capes.


“The remarkable achievements of this year’s class exemplify excellence and an unwavering dedication to our sport,” said Gus Carlson, president of the National Sailing Hall of Fame.

“We are proud to honour the accomplishments of these extraordinary people and confident they will inspire future generations of sailors, innovators and contributors.”

NSHOF has stated that the Class of 2021 will be formally celebrated on Saturday, 16 October, at an official induction ceremony at the NSHOF’s newly renovated Armory Building in Newport, Rhode Island.

The Armoury Building is the former site of the international press corps during the 12 Metre America’s Cup era in Newport and is the future home for The Sailing Museum.

The 2021 Ceremony will also those induced in 2020, who were honoured virtually due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Nominations for the Class of 2022 are open until 31 January 2022. To find out more about the eligibility criteria, click here.

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement