Race day

Well, its that time of the year. The 2017 Rolex Sydney Hobart, Australia's most famous yacht race, will capture the nation's attention this Boxing day, with conditions set to excite spectators and crews alike.

26 December 2017


The 2017 Rolex Sydney Hobart will see a 102-strong fleet aiming to make it from Sydney, down Australia’s east coast, across Bass Straight and into Hobart. While a handful will race for line honours, every crew could potentially claim The Tattersall Cup – the coveted prize for the overall victor.

The forecast is predicting fantastic conditions for the 73rd edition of Australia’s most famous sailing race. The most contested class will be the supermaxis, with Black Jack and Wild Oats XI heavily favourited, with LDV Comanche needing the prefect conditions to make through the Derwent on time.

The 45- to 55-footers will also have a strong chance, with TP52s like Ichi Ban leading the charge. The Cookson 50s and TP52 will be strong contenders, with Wild Oats X giving them a challenge.

How crews handle the Derwent will once again be a huge factor, as timing through the heads may just decide the race.

As they race kicks off soon, we preview the 2017 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race.


Start time: 1pm AEDT

Race Distance: 628 nautical miles/1,163 kilometres.

Route: Sydney Harbour to Castray Esplanade in Hobart. The final checkpoint on the Australian mainland is Green Cape, where all vessels must do a radio check confirming they are about to cross Bass Strait with their radio in working order.

Race time from start to finish: The race record is held by Perpetual LOYAL, in One day, 13 hours, 31 minutes and 20 seconds is the benchmark.

In 2016 Giacomo and Scallywag both also crossed the finish line in under record time.  

Who to watch, line honours: Wild Oats XI, Black Jack, InfoTrack and LDV Comanche are the four super maxis and all four are truly in contention this year.

All four big guns have won line honours in the Rolex Sydney Hobart, with Wild Oats XI winning line honours a record eight times.

Who to watch, overall victory: It’s a diverse fleet this year, in which the weather may well determine the winner, although the early forecast favoured the big boats.

Defending champion Giacomo has been sold and renamed Wizard, which should be in the mix, as will TP52s Ichi Ban, Quest, Koa and Rockall. The larger Beau Geste and Wild Oats X have shown strong form too.

Showing just how open the race will be, the 1964 built Kialoa II is in with a chance, as is Mascalzone Latino, oldest boat in the fleet Dorade, Oskana and the 34 foot 35 year-old Komatsu Azzurro.

Size restriction: A vessel cannot be more than 100ft. or less than 30ft.

First female competitor: In 1946 Jane ‘Jenny’ Tate of Hobart raced alongside her husband, Horrie aboard Active. The ‘Jane Tate Memorial Trophy’ is awarded to the first female skipper to finish the race each year.

Dagmar O’Brien also competed in the same year with her husband Dr Brian (‘Mick’) O’Brien aboard Conella. They were forced to retire in Bass Strait.

This year we have 5 female skippers, and Lisa Blair leads an all-female team on board Climate Action Now.

International line honours winners: There have been 26 international line honours winners since the race began in 1945. Comanche (USA) was the last of those in 2015.

Biggest fleet: In the 50th edition of the race in 1994 there were 371 starters, including 24 internationals, 309 finished.

Oldest Yacht in the fleet:  Dorade, built in 1929.

Where to watch: Channel 7 at 12:30pm AEDT, online via the 7LIVE App,

You can also follow the yachts positions during the race on YACHT TRACKER.


  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement