Sydney Hobart excites

The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia's 2022 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race is just around the corner, with over 80 entrants to date.

Photography by ROLEX | Andrea Francolini

19 September 2022


An international and star-studded fleet is building for the 2022 Rolex Sydney Hobart Yacht Race, with just 100 days to go until its 77th edition.

The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, organiser of the race, has welcomed 89 entrants to date.

The fleet features eight international boats – from Germany (Orione), Great Britain (Sunrise), Hungary (Cassiopeia), New Caledonia (Eye Candy and Poulpito), New Zealand (Caro) and USA (Ocean Freeway and Warrior Won).

Matt Allen’s Botin 52 Ichi Ban, the overall winner in the 2021 Rolex Sydney Hobart, is back to chase more history.

Ichi Ban is looking to become the second boat to win the Tattersall Cup in three consecutive races and the first to win overall honours four times.


Peter Harburg’s Reichel/Pugh 100 Black Jack – Line Honours winner in 2021 – is one of four 100-foot maxis entered in the 2022 race, alongside race record holder Andoo Comanche (three-times Line Honours winner).

Hamilton Island Wild Oats (record nine-times Line Honours winner) and Christian Beck’s Juan-K 100 LawConnect (Line Honours winner as Perpetual LOYAL in 2016) will also be present.

There will be another strong contingent of short-handed sailors, with Crux (Carlos Aydos’s S&S 34) and Speedwell (Campbell Geeves and Wendy Tuck) among 13 two-handed entrants.

Arthur Lane, Commodore of the Cruising Yacht Club of Australia, said: “The fleet for the 2022 Rolex Sydney Hobart is set to be one of the race’s biggest over the last decade, outside of the 75th anniversary race in 2019.

“We are delighted to see so many international and interstate entrants returning to take part in the race after the challenges of the last few years.

“There are many former winners, as well as a large number of first-timers, taking on what is one of ocean racing’s greatest challenges.

“The Cruising Yacht Club of Australia thanks Rolex for its ongoing support of the Rolex Sydney Hobart and sailing worldwide, as the Club celebrates 20 years of partnership with its Race Sponsor.”

Of the 81 Australian entrants to date, 52 are from NSW, 13 from Queensland, six from Victoria, four from Tasmania, four from South Australia and two from Western Australia.

Notable boats competing in the 2022 Rolex Sydney Hobart:

  • Alive: Philip Turner’s Reichel/Pugh 66, skippered by Duncan Hine, won the Tattersall Cup in 2018.
  • Andoo Comanche: John Winning Jr has chartered the famous VPLP 100, which has won Line Honours three times (2015/2017/2019) and holds the race record.
  • Black Jack: Peter Harburg’s Reichel/Pugh 100, skippered by Mark Bradford, won Line Honours for the first time in 2021.
  • Caro: Justin Ferris’ Botin 52, skippered by Maximilian Klink, is expected to be among the frontrunners in a competitive group of 52-foot boats.
  • Celestial: Sam Haynes’ TP52 was second overall in the 2021 Rolex Sydney Hobart.
  • Crux: Carlos Aydos’ S&S 34 was second on all handicaps in the inaugural Two-Handed Division last year.
  • Hamilton Island Wild Oats: The Oatley Family’s Reichel/Pugh 100 – formerly Wild Oats XI – returns to the race. She holds the record for most Line Honours wins (nine), also winning Overall honours twice.
  • Ichi Ban: Matt Allen’s Botin 52 has back-to-back Overall wins to her name and a joint-record three in total.
  • Kialoa II: Patrick and Keith Broughton are the proud owners of the 1971 Line Honours winner.
  • LawConnect: Christian Beck’s 100-footer won Line Honours for Anthony Bell as Perpetual LOYAL in 2016.
  • Maluka: Peter Langman will be at the helm of the smallest boat in the fleet, the 9-metre Ranger.
  • Moneypenny: Sean Langman’s Reichel/Pugh 69 won Overall honours in the 2022 Noakes Sydney Gold Coast Yacht Race.
  • Quest: Craig Neil’s TP52 has twice won the Tattersall Cup, as Quest for Bob Steel in 2008 and as Balance for Paul Clitheroe in 2015.
  • Sunrise: Tom Kneen’s JPK 1180 won the 2021 Rolex Fastnet Race, was second in the 2021 Rolex Middle Sea Race and won divisional honours in the 2022 RORC Caribbean 600.
  • Warrior Won: American Chris Sheehan will race his highly fancied TP52 in Australia for the first time, having made headlines by winning the 2022 RORC Caribbean 600.

Entries for the 2022 Rolex Sydney Hobart close at 5pm on Friday 28 October 2022.

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement

  • Advertisement